Development of SEBoK v. 1.3

From SEBoK
Revision as of 14:52, 20 June 2014 by Kguillemette (talk | contribs) (Created page with "This version of the SEBoK was released 30 May 2014. This is a minor release of the SEBoK which includes three new case studies, a new use case, updates to several existing art...")
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

This version of the SEBoK was released 30 May 2014. This is a minor release of the SEBoK which includes three new case studies, a new use case, updates to several existing articles, and updates to references, particularly updates to the newest version of the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK). The Editorial Board released the associated version of the Sandbox in June 2014.

Content and Feature Updates for v. 1.3

Changes between versions 1.2 and version 1.3 included:

SEBoK v. 1.3 Authors

Authors who contributed materials specifically to the v. 1.3 products are listed in Table 1, below.

Table 1. SEBoK v. 1.3 Authors. (SEBoK Original)
Author Contribution
Mikhail Belov, IBS (Russia) Successful Business Transformation within a Russian Information Technology Company
Hamid Darbi, Stevens Institute of Technology (USA) Federal Aviation Administration Next Generation Air Transportation System
David H. Olwell, Naval Postgraduate School (USA) Use Case 0: Systems Engineering Novices
Brian Sauser, University of North Texas (USA) Hubble Space Telescope Case Study
Mike Vinarcik, Booz Allen Hamilton and University of Detroit, Mercy (USA) How Lack of Information Sharing Jeopardized the NASA/ESA Cassini/Huygens Mission to Saturn
Brian White, CAU>SE (USA) Hubble Space Telescope Case Study


SEBoK v. 1.3 Editors

The Editorial Board for v. 1.3 is listed in Tables 2, 3, and 4 below.

Table 2. SEBoK v. 1.3 Leadership. (SEBoK Original)
BKCASE Editor in Chief
RickAdcock.png

Richard D. Adcock

Cranfield University (UK)

richard.adcock@incose.org

SEBoK v. 1.3 was the first iteration of the SEBoK published under Rick's leadership. In addition to his duties as EIC, Rick is responsible for the Systems Fundamentals, Systems Science, Systems Thinking, and Systems Approach Applied to Engineered Systems knowledge areas in Part 2: Systems along with Cihan Dagli.


The Editor in Chief was supported by the Associate Editors. Each Associate Editor's area(s) of responsibility are highlighted in Table 3 below.

Table 3. SEBoK v. 1.3 Editors. (SEBoK Original)
BKCASE Associate Editors
Barry Boehm

University of Southern California (USA)

boehm@usc.edu

Responsible for the Systems Engineering Management knowledge area with Greg Parnell and Life Cycle Models knowledge area; both are in Part 3: Systems Engineering and Management.

Ricardo Pineda

Stevens Institute of Technology (USA)

Version 1.3 of the SEBoK was dedicated in memory of Ricardo.

Cihan Dagli

Missouri University of Science & Technology (USA)

dagli@mst.edu

Responsible for the Systems Fundamentals, Systems Science, Systems Thinking, and Systems Approach Applied to Engineered Systems knowledge areas in Part 2: Systems along with Rick Adcock.

Garry Roedler

Lockheed Martin (USA)

garry.j.roedler@lmco.com

Responsible for the Concept Definition and System Definition knowledge areas in Part 3: Systems Engineering and Management.

Judith Dahmann

MITRE Corporation (USA)

jdahmann@mitre.org

Responsible for Product Systems Engineering, Enterprise Systems Engineering, and Systems of Systems (SoS) in Part 4: Applications of Systems Engineering with Mike Henshaw.

Brian Sauser

University of North Texas (USA)

brian.sauser@unt.edu

Responsible for Part 7: Systems Engineering Implementation Examples, which includes Case Studies and Vignettes, with Brian White.

Heidi Davidz

Aerojet Rocketdyne (USA)

heidi.davidz@rocket.com

Responsible for the Enabling Individuals knowledge area with Tim Ferris and the Enabling Teams knowledge area in Part 5: Enabling Systems Engineering.

Samuel Seymour

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab (APL) (USA)

sam.seymour@jhuapl.edu

Responsible for the Service Systems Engineering knowledge area in Part 4: Applications of Systems Engineering.

Dov Dori

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA) and Technion Israel Institute of Technology (Israel)

dori@mit.edu

Responsible for the Representing Systems with Models knowledge area with Greg Parnell and developer of the Integrating Supporting Aspects into System Models article.

Ariela Sofer

George Mason University (USA)

asofer@gmu.edu

Responsible for Part 1, including an overview of systems engineering and an overview of the SEBoK.

Timothy Ferris

University of South Australia (Australia)

timothy.ferris@unisa.edu.au

Responsible for the Enabling Individuals knowledge area in Part 5: Enabling Systems Engineering with Heidi Davidz. Tim is also developing a new article on Systems Engineering Education.

Alice Squires

Aurora Flight Sciences (USA)

al.ice@mac.com

Responsible for Systems Engineering and Project Management. Alice also serves as the Senior Editor for Integration.

Michael Henshaw

Loughborough University (UK)

M.J.d.Henshaw@lboro.ac.uk

Responsible for Product Systems Engineering, Enterprise Systems Engineering, and Systems of Systems (SoS) in Part 4: Applications of Systems Engineering with Judith Dahmann.

Ricardo Valerdi

University of Arizona (USA)

rvalerdi@email.arizona.edu

Responsible for the System Realization knowledge area in Part 3: Systems Engineering and Management. Dr. Valerdi is also developing a new article on Systems Engineering References.

James Martin

The Aerospace Corporation

james.martin@incose.org

Supports the Systems Fundamentals and Enterprise Systems Engineering knowledge areas.

Brian White

CAU>SE (USA)

bewhite71@gmail.com

Responsible for Part 7: Systems Engineering Implementation Examples, which includes Case Studies and Vignettes, with Brian Sauser.

David H. Olwell

Naval Postgraduate School (USA)

Responsible for Use Case 0. Dave also serves as the Senior Editor for the Graduate Reference Curriculum for Systems Engineering (GRCSE).

Ken Zemrowski

TASC

kenneth.zemrowski@incose.org

Responsible for the Systems Engineering Standards knowledge area.

Gregory Parnell

University of Arkansas (USA)

gparnell@uark.edu

Responsible for the Representing Systems with Models knowledge area with Dov Dori in Part 2: Systems and the Systems Engineering Management knowledge area with Barry Boehm in Part 3: Systems Engineering and Management.


The Assistant Editors provide general editorial support across all topics. They assist both with content improvement and production issues.

Table 4. SEBoK v. 1.3 Assistant Editors. (SEBoK Original)
BKCASE Assistant Editors
Devanandham Henry

Stevens Institute of Technology (USA)

dhenry@stevens.edu

Nicole A.C. Hutchison

Stevens Institute of Technology (USA)

nicole.hutchison@stevens.edu

SEBoK v. 1.3 Staff

The Editorial Board was further supported by the BKCASE staff.

Table 5. SEBoK v. 1.3 BKCASE Staff. (SEBoK Original)
BKCASE Staff
Kate Guillemette

IEEE Computer Society (USA)

kguillemette@computer.org

Michelle Phon

IEEE Computer Society (USA)

mphon@computer.org