Development of SEBoK v. 1.2

From SEBoK
Jump to: navigation, search

This version of the SEBoK was released 15 November 2013. This is a minor release of the SEBoK which includes two new articles, updates to existing articles, and new primary references. The Editorial Board released the associated version of the Sandbox in late November 2013.

Content and Feature Updates for v. 1.2

Changes between versions 1.1.2 and version 1.2 included:

Specific updates by part were:

  • In Part 1, there were minor typographical updates.
  • In Part 2, there is a new article for SEBoK on integrating modeling of systems and supporting aspects via model-based systems engineering (MBSE) approaches. Supporting aspects include project management, risk management, requirements management, quality management, and verification and validation. Supporting aspects incorporated into system models or derived from these models enrich the model, facilitate structured and integrated management of these aspects, and capture their implictions on the system or vice versa. As MBSE becomes common practice for core system functionality, moving on to enveloping aspect modeling is the next step toward a holistic MBSE paradigm. This new article is called Integrating Supporting Aspects into System Models. Additionally, there were minor typographic edits to some articles.
  • In Part 3, the Decision Management article was heavily rewritten to align with new Decision Management Process developed by the INCOSE Decision Analysis Working Group and several other articles were updated, including System Requirements, System Definition, Concept Definition, Business or Mission Analysis (formerly Mission Analysis), and Relevant Standards. For Relevant Standards, additional linkages have been added to the existing standards. There were also updates to several figures within Part 3.
  • In Part 4, updates were made to the Systems of Systems (SoS) and Service Systems Engineering knowledge areas to add new references in order to refresh the content. Over 25 new references have been added within these knowledge areas.
  • In Part 5, a new topic was added on Technical Leadership in Systems Engineering within the Enabling Teams knowledge area.
  • In Part 6, there were minor changes. The Editors incorporated some minor suggestions that were submitted via the Sandbox.
  • There were no changes to Part 7 for v. 1.2.

SEBoK v. 1.2 Authors

Authors who contributed materials specifically to the v. 1.2 products are listed in Table 1, below.

Table 1. SEBoK v. 1.2 authors. (SEBoK Original)
Author Article
Matthew Cilli, Stevens Institute of Technology (PhD Candidate), USA Decision Management
Yaniv Mordecai, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel Integrating Supporting Aspects into Systems Models
Richard Swanson, High Performance Technologies Group, DRC, USA Decision Management


SEBoK v. 1.2 Editors

The Editorial Board for v. 1.2 is listed in Tables 2, 3, and 4 below.

Table 2. SEBoK v. 1.2 Leadership. (SEBoK Original)
BKCASE Editors in Chief

ArtPyster.jpg

Editor in Chief

Art Pyster

Stevens Institute of Technology (US)

art.pyster@stevens.edu

DaveOlwell.jpg

Co-Editor in Chief

David H. Olwell

Naval Postgraduate School (US)

dholwell@nps.edu


The Editor in Chief and Co-Editor in Chief were supported by the Associate Editors. Each Associate Editor's area(s) of responsibility are highlighted in Table 3 below.

Table 3. SEBoK v. 1.2 Editors. (SEBoK Original)
BKCASE Associate Editors
Richard Adcock

Cranfield University and INCOSE UK (UK)

r.d.adcock@cranfield.ac.uk

Responsible for the Systems Fundamentals, Systems Science, Systems Thinking, and Systems Approach Applied to Engineered Systems knowledge areas in Part 2: Systems along with Cihan Dagli.

Gregory Parnell

University of Arkansas (US)

gparnell@uark.edu

Responsible for the Representing Systems with Models knowledge area with Dov Dori in Part 2: Systems and the Systems Engineering Management knowledge area with Barry Boehm in Part 3: Systems Engineering and Management.

Barry Boehm

University of Southern California (US)

boehm@usc.edu

Responsible for the Systems Engineering Management knowledge area with Greg Parnell and Life Cycle Models knowledge area; both are in Part 3: Systems Engineering and Management.

Ricardo Pineda

Stevens Institute of Technology (US)

rpineda@stevens.edu

Responsible for the Systems Engineering and Industrial Engineering knowledge area.

Cihan Dagli

Missouri University of Science & Technology (US)

dagli@mst.edu

Responsible for the Systems Fundamentals, Systems Science, Systems Thinking, and Systems Approach Applied to Engineered Systems knowledge areas in Part 2: Systems along with Rick Adcock.

Garry Roedler

Lockheed Martin (US)

garry.j.roedler@lmco.com

Responsible for the Concept Definition and System Definition knowledge areas in Part 3: Systems Engineering and Management.

Judith Dahmann

MITRE Corporation (US)

jdahmann@mitre.org

Responsible for Product Systems Engineering, Enterprise Systems Engineering, and Systems of Systems (SoS) in Part 4: Applications of Systems Engineering with Mike Henshaw.

Brian Sauser

University of North Texas (US)

brian.sauser@unt.edu

Responsible for Part 7: Systems Engineering Implementation Examples, which includes Case Studies and Vignettes, with Brian White.

Heidi Davidz

Aerojet Rocketdyne (US)

heidi.davidz@rocket.com

Responsible for the Enabling Individuals knowledge area with Tim Ferris and the Enabling Teams knowledge area in Part 5: Enabling Systems Engineering.

Samuel Seymour

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab (APL) (US)

sam.seymour@jhuapl.edu

Responsible for the Service Systems Engineering knowledge area in Part 4: Applications of Systems Engineering.

Dov Dori

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA) and Technion Israel Institute of Technology (Israel)

dori@mit.edu

Responsible for the Representing Systems with Models knowledge area with Greg Parnell and developer of the Integrating Supporting Aspects into System Models article.

Ariela Sofer

George Mason University (US)

asofer@gmu.edu

Responsible for Part 1, including an overview of systems engineering and an overview of the SEBoK.

Timothy Ferris

University of South Australia (Australia)

timothy.ferris@unisa.edu.au

Responsible for the Enabling Individuals knowledge area in Part 5: Enabling Systems Engineering with Heidi Davidz. Tim is also developing a new article on Systems Engineering Education.

Ricardo Valerdi

University of Arizona (US)

rvalerdi@email.arizona.edu

Responsible for the System Realization knowledge area in Part 3: Systems Engineering and Management. Dr. Valerdi is also developing a new article on Systems Engineering References.

Michael Henshaw

Loughborough University (UK)

M.J.d.Henshaw@lboro.ac.uk

Responsible for Product Systems Engineering, Enterprise Systems Engineering, and Systems of Systems (SoS) in Part 4: Applications of Systems Engineering with Judith Dahmann.

Brian White

CAU>SE (US)

bewhite71@gmail.com

Responsible for Part 7: Systems Engineering Implementation Examples, which includes Case Studies and Vignettes, with Brian Sauser.

James Martin

The Aerospace Corporation

james.martin@incose.org

Supports the Systems Fundamentals and Enterprise Systems Engineering knowledge areas.

Ken Zemrowski

TASC

kenneth.zemrowski@incose.org

Responsible for the Systems Engineering Standards knowledge area.

Chris Paredis

Georgia Institute of Technology (US)

chris.paredis@me.gatech.edu

Responsible for working across the SEBoK adding material on the theoretical underpinnings of systems engineering, including mathematical foundations.


The Assistant Editors provide general editorial support across all topics. They assist both with content improvement and production issues.

Table 4. SEBoK v. 1.2 Assistant Editors. (SEBoK Original)
BKCASE Assistant Editors
Stephanie Enck

Naval Postgraduate School

smenck@nps.edu

Nicole Hutchison

Stevens Institute of Technology

nicole.hutchison@stevens.edu

Devanandham Henry

Stevens Institute of Technology

dhenry@stevens.edu

Technical Editors

Updated articles went through technical editing to improve writing quality and consistency. Thanks go to our technical editor, Emily Leach, for her efforts.